| 
Visit us on Facebook

ABC - Europe with Caribbean Flair

The ABC islands (former Netherlands Antilles) are three islands A (ruba), B (onaire) and C (uracao) from a small but idyllic archipelago about 80 km north of Venezuela. Although located in the middle of the Caribbean the three islands are - due to the connection to the Netherlands – belong finally seen by international law as Europe. Bonaire as part of the BES-Islands (Bonaire, St. Eustasius & Saba) is now directly connected to the Netherlands. The official status is special municipality (officially “public body“) of the Netherlands. The European influences are not to be overlooked. Many Europeans have settled on the three islands - or are simply got “stuck”. The islands live mainly from tourism.

 

But the tourist will experience the real magic under water by the nearly 90 officially marked dive sites. Since 1979, the entire reef structure has been put under protection by the government in Bonaire. Not for nothing Bonaire is one of the best shore diving areas of our planet. Almost all dive sites are accessible by car, Klein Bonaire, a small offshore island except of course.

 

For surfers Bonaire is also something special. The protected lagoon of Lac Bay on the south side of the island is ideal for surf freaks. The wind force is reliably 15-25 knots. Kite surfing, kayaking, mountain biking and many more activities characterize the diversity of Bonaire.

 

Who does not want to experience the island only by diving you will have plenty of opportunities to do so. By jeep, bike or kayak you can discover a lot of interesting corners. A fascinating view over Bonaire offers the Brandaris, the highest "mountain" of the island. Caves also invite you to be discovered.

 

In the south, the salt lakes are shimmering in typical “Bonairean” pink. Salt extraction on Bonaire has a long "tradition". Generations of slaves were "conscripted" till 1863 to work in the salt pans. Slave huts still bear witness to this time. The slave huts are built of stone. Sometimes even today some tourists are sleeping one night at the slave huts. An unusual - but interesting experience. The salt production – but with a more modern production style is still an economic factor in Bonaire.

 

In the north of Bonaire you will find the Washington Slagbaai National Park which covers approximately 60 square kilometers. You will discover pure nature, an unspoiled tropical flora and fauna. There are many different types of cacti and mangroves. For birders should be noted that you can discover approx. 190 species of birds live. There are people who argue (with a smile) you will find more flamingos heads than humans on Bonaire.

| 
Visit us on Facebook
 

ABC - Europa mit karibischem Zauber

Die ABC-Inseln der niederländischen Antillen A(ruba), B(onaire) und C(uracao) bilden eine kleine, aber verträumte Inselgruppe etwa 80 km nördlich von Venezuela. Obwohl inmitten der Karibik gelegen, gehören sie bedingt durch die Anbindung an die Niederlande, völkerrechtlich gesehen, noch zu Europa. Bonaire, als Teil der BES-Islands gehört mittlerweile direkt zu Holland und hat den Status einer sog. "Besonderen Gemeinde". Die europäischen Einflüsse sind nicht zu übersehen. Viele Europäer haben sich auf den drei Inseln niedergelassen - oder sind einfach dort "hängengeblieben". Die Inseln leben hauptsächlich vom Tourismus.

Den eigentlichen Zauber erfährt der Tourist an den knapp 90 offiziell ausgewiesenen Tauchplätzen. Seit 1979 wurde von der Regierung in Bonaire die gesamte Riffstruktur unter Naturschutz gestellt. Nicht umsonst zählt man die ABC-Inseln zu den schönsten Shorediving-Tauchgebieten unseres Planeten. Fast alle Plätze sind mit dem Auto erreichbar, Klein-Bonaire, eine kleine, vorgelagerte Insel natürlich ausgenommen.

Auch für Surfer bietet Bonaire Besonderes. Die geschützte Lagune von Lac Bay auf der Südseite der Insel ist für Surf-Freaks bestens geeignet. Die Windstärke liegt zuverlässig zwischen 15 und 25 Knoten. Kite-Surfen, Kayaking, Mountain-Biken und viele weiter Freizeitaktivitäten kennzeichnen die Vielfalt von Bonaire.

Wer die Insel einmal nicht als Taucher erleben will, hat jede Menge Möglichkeiten dazu. Mit dem Jeep, dem Fahrrad oder dem Kajak erreicht man viele interessante Ecken. Einen faszinierenden Blick über Bonaire hat man vom Brandaris, dem höchsten "Berg" der Insel. Höhlen und Grotten laden ebenfalls zum Entdecken ein.

Im Süden schillern Salzseen in typischem Pink. Die Salzgewinnung auf Bonaire hat eine lange "Tradition". Generationen von Sklaven wurden bis ins Jahr 1863 zu dieser Tätigkeit "zwangsverpflichtet". Sklavenhütten zeugen noch heute von dieser Zeit. Aus Stein gebaut, lassen es sich die Touristen nicht nehmen, auch heute noch eine Nacht in den Sklavenhütten zu verbringen. Ein ungewöhnliches - aber interessantes Erlebnis. Die Salzgewinnung ist auch heute noch ein wichtiger Wirtschaftsfaktor auf Bonaire.

Im Norden erstreckt sich der Washington Slagbaai Nationalpark mit ca. 60 qkm. Die Fahrt führt auf eine Entdeckungsreise durch die unzerstörte tropische Tier- und Pflanzenwelt. Es gibt zahlreiche verschiedene Kakteenarten sowie Mangrovenwälder. Für Vogelfreunde ist anzumerken, dass auf Bonaire über 190 Vogelarten leben. Es gibt Leute die behaupten, in Bonaire zählten die Flamingos mehr Köpfe als die menschlichen Einwohner.